Irish Funds Council Elections 2021 - Results

Tuesday, 14 September 2021

Irish Funds Council Elections 2021 - Results

On Monday, 6 September the ballot for the Council Elections closed. Since then, the results have been checked and validated - 110 member firms lodged votes, representing an 83% turnout rate. This is a strong endorsement of the changes which members approved earlier in the year and the quality of the candidates who put themselves forward for election. The following have been elected to serve on the Council of the Association for the next three years:

  • Ann Stock, Vanguard Group Ireland

  • Ronnie Griffin, HSBC (returned for a second term)

  • Colm McDonagh, Insight Investment Management Europe

  • Eve Finn, Legal and General Investment Management

  • Gary Clare, Accenture

  • Eoin Motherway, The AMX

We have 5 new Council Members, and the overall group increases to 15. We wish all our newly elected Council Members the best in their work on behalf of the entire membership.

When the new Council comes together for the first time later this month Maria Ging of BlackRock will take over as Chairperson of the Association from Lisa Kealy of EY who has completed an elongated and action-packed term. This included guiding Council throughout most of the pandemic and seeing the constitutional changes implemented. Sincere thanks to Lisa for her tremendous energy and drive and best wishes to Maria as she takes up the reins at this important juncture.

We will also see several Council Members retiring this month. Yvonne Connolly from Carne, who was our chairperson in the 2019/20 Council year, has served the membership since 2016 and completes her term, as have Gary Pike of Citi and Paul Kilcullen of BNY Mellon. To each of them a sincere word of thanks, especially given the significant commitment they have demonstrated on your behalf.